How to manage your Sellfy subscription and billing

In this article:

Upgrading from a trial

Upgrading to a more advanced plan

Downgrading your plan

Errors when upgrading

How to cancel Sellfy subscription

What is Sellfy's cancellation policy?

Manage an expired subscription (how to re-upgrade)

For Sell Downloads app on Wix subscriptions

FAQs about subscriptions and billing


Upgrading from a trial

Note: Even if you upgrade before the trial has ended, the first subscription payment is collected immediately.

All our subscription plans start with a free 14-day trial period. Once the trial ends, you'll need to upgrade to keep using your store. If you have trouble upgrading, please read here.

There are two ways to upgrade after or during the trial period:

  1. Log into your Sellfy account
  2. Navigate to Account > Billing
  3. Click Activate subscription
  4. OR you can upgrade directly on the Pricing page (make sure you're logged in)

Upgrading to a more advanced plan

Important! If you joined Sellfy before August 31 of 2019, and you're currently using a discontinued plan and decide to upgrade, it won't be possible to switch back to these discontinued plans. You are only able to choose from the current Pricing plans as presented on our Pricing page.

If you're already a subscribed user and want to upgrade to a more advanced plan:

  1. Log into your Sellfy account
  2.  Navigate to Account > Billing
  3. Click Change plan
  4. Select a new plan

Note: The new plan will be enabled immediately, and your payment schedule will remain the same. For example, if you're charged on the 10th of every month, that will stay the same.

On the day you upgrade, you'll receive an invoice that consists of:

  1. The first payment cost for the new plan (the cost of the remaining days in your billing cycle of month or year).
  2. A credit of the unused days that remained in your previous plan.


Downgrading your plan

Important! If you joined Sellfy before August 31 of 2019, and you're currently using a discontinued plan and decide to upgrade, it won't be possible to switch back to the discontinued plan. You may only choose from the current Pricing plans as presented on our Pricing page.

To downgrade to a lower subscription package:

  1. Log in to your Sellfy Account
  2. Navigate to Account > Billing
  3. Click Change plan

  4. Select a new plan

Note: The new plan will not start immediately but commence with the new billing cycle.

Here's an example: if you started your current plan on 20 October and you decide to downgrade on November 10, you'll be using the original plan until November 20. Your account will be downgraded to the new plan on November 20 to match your billing cycle.


Errors when upgrading

If you experience any errors during the upgrade process we recommend that you try another card, or pay with PayPal. We don't recommend attempting the transaction repeatedly. For more help on your specific error messages please read here.


How to cancel your Sellfy subscription

Note: If you cancel your subscription, all product files stored on our servers that you have uploaded to your account will be deleted 30 days after your plan ended.

If you wish to cancel your Sellfy subscription, you can do so any time directly in your account. To do this:

  1. Log in to your Sellfy account
  2. Navigate to Account > Billing
  3. Click Cancel subscription 

What is Sellfy's refund policy?

If you signed up for a paid plan and find that the service is not working for you within the first 30 days of subscribing, we are able to refund your subscription payment.

You can still cancel your plan at any time during the billing cycle, after the first 30 days of subscribing however, we won't be able to refund your payment in this case.

Important! The subscription will not be closed immediately, it will continue until the end of the running billing cycle. So, for example, if your billing cycle is set to renew on September 10, but you cancel on September 1, the subscription will remain active until September 10. And if you are using a Discontinued Planthe last invoice will be collected on the last day of the subscription, for the cost of the transaction fees.


Manage an expired subscription (how to re-upgrade)

Note: You'll have 14 days to pay your missed payment. If you've missed a payment for any reason, your store will remain active for 14 days after the initial payment was due. But, your store will close if you fail to pay the overdue payment within this period. After 30 days, your store and products may be deleted and will be unable to be recovered.

If you've missed a monthly payment or your payment was declined and your active subscription has expired, you'll need to start a new subscription to keep using your store. This is essential to do  within 30 days if you want to continue using the same Sellfy account and store. There are two ways to re-upgrade and activate your store:

  1. Re-upgrade your subscription in the Billing section of your Sellfy account
  2. Visit our Pricing page and renew your subscription 

Important! You must update the payment information section in your Sellfy account before you can re-upgrade. You can use the exact same payment method and information as before but you'll have to re-enter and save it first.

To update your payment information, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Sellfy account
  2. Navigate to Account > Billing
  3. Click Update to the right of Payment Information
  4. Enter your payment information 
  5. Once filled in, click Update at the bottom to save the information
  6. Select a new plan in your Billing section or on the Sellfy Pricing page

Once you've successfully re-upgraded your account, your store will be activated once again. Your store information and account settings will remain the same as before if you've started your subscription again within 30 days of the store expiring.


For Sell Downloads app on Wix subscriptions

The Sell Downloads app on Wix.com is incompatible with any of the Sellfy subscription packages on Sellfy.com. You can use either one or the other, but not both in one account.

Important! If you want to switch from using the Sell Downloads app on Wix to one of the plans on Sellfy.com please make sure to contact our support team at [email protected] to disconnect the app from your account. You'll also need to cancel your subscription to the Sell Downloads app.

To cancel your Sell Downloads app subscription, follow the instructions here.


FAQs about subscriptions and billing

How can I pay for my Sellfy subscription?

You're able to pay for your Sellfy subscription charge with a major credit or debit card, or with your PayPal account.

Can I change plans, even if I want to change before my yearly subscription is up?

You can upgrade or downgrade your plan at any time. Any prepaid subscription time will be applied to the cost of your new subscription. So, if you have half a year of the Starter plan left that you've paid for, but you want to upgrade to the Business plan, you can change your plan and we'll apply the paid for time as a credit to the cost of the new plan. If you're downgrading your plan, just make sure that your annual sales match the limits for the plan below your current plan.

For example, if you upgrade from Starter to Business after using your Starter plan for 6 months:
Business plan cost for 6 months  $234 - Credit for 6 months of the Starter plan $114 = Cost of upgrade $120

If I sign up for a year and then I cancel, do I get a refund?

If you've signed up an annual plan and need to cancel within the first month, please email our support at [email protected] to get help. But, if you're canceling your annual plan after the first month, then your store will remain open for the rest of the paid time and we won't be able to issue a refund. If you're uncertain of whether you want an annual plan, try a month first! You can always upgrade to the annual plan later on.

What happens if I go over the annual sales limit set for my plan?

If you do exceed the annual sales limit for your current subscription plan, you will be expected to upgrade to the next subscription plan in the pricing tier. We've specifically designed the tools and available features for each plan to best assist you and your customers. So, you'll have a slightly higher monthly or annual cost with access to more features to help continue your store growth! If you do go over the limit, we’ll make sure to notify you in the Dashboard of your account if you have reached the amount of revenue set for your plan. But, if the account has not upgraded, we may start to charge a 2% overage fee for the amount of revenue that has gone over the subscription plan limits.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us